

Society of Environmental Journalists

Jenkintown PA 19046 USA
Phone: (215) 884-8174 • Fax: (215) 884-8175
sej@sej.org • www.sej.org

Board of Directors

President: Don Hopey Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Vice President, Programs Jeffrey Burnside KOMO-TV, Seattle

Vice President, Membership Ashley Ahearn KUOW-FM, Seattle

Treasurer: Carolyn Whetzel Bloomberg BNA

Secretary: Christy George Independent Producer

Imelda Abano Philippine Environews

Jennifer Bogo Popular Science

Douglas Fischer dailyclimate.org

Emily Gertz Independent Journalist

Robert McClure InvestigateWest

Mark Schleifstein NOLA.com | The Times-Picayune

Kate Sheppard Huffington Post

Roger Witherspoon Freelance Journalist

Representative for Academic Membership: David Poulson Michigan State University

Representative for Associate Membership: Meaghan Parker Woodrow Wilson Center

Founding President: Jim Detjen MSU Knight Chair (retired)

SEJournal Editor A. Adam Glenn, CUNY

Executive Director Beth Parke



April 8, 2014 Hon. Terrance W. Gainer, Sergeant-at-Arms, U.S. Senate

by e-mail terrance_gainer@saa.senate.gov

Dear Mr. Gainer:

The Society of Environmental Journalists is a professional group representing some 1200 members active in reporting on environment and energy. We are writing to express our deep concern about the March 28 incident in which Bloomberg BNA reporter Ari Natter was briefly detained in the hallway of the Russell Senate Office Building.

We certainly do appreciate your prompt apology for this incident, and we take it as an acknowledgement that this kind of thing should not happen and goes against the protocols of openness and civility that have long characterized the relationship between the Capitol and the working press.

We respect the right of public officials to decline to answer questions. We also understand that in the confusion, there may have been differing view of what actually happened. But several of our members or colleagues were actually eyewitnesses, and we believe the net effect could be a chilling effect on legitimate newsgathering. Hence this letter. It is extremely important that this kind of event be rejected and that it not become a norm.

Properly credentialed members of the House and Senate Press Galleries should not have to undergo ad hoc "background checks" -- much less be detained for trying to do their jobs of reporting the news. An ad hoc "background check" serves only to suggest that the Capitol Police might have been lax when they credentialed the reporter in the first place.

The Capitol Police normally do a fine job of keeping order -- and we know that can often be hard. Journalists want civility as much as the Capitol Police. Reporters should be able to go about their work confidently when they follow protocols, and not have to do so in fear of being detained when they have done nothing wrong.

These events take place in the context of an ongoing debate about the openness of government -- not only the legislative branch, but also the executive branch, as was the case in this incident. It is worth noting that the halls of the Capitol

Strengthening the quality, reach and viability of journalism across all media to advance public understanding of environmental issues

are one of the few places where reporters and officials can meet on equal grounds. It is one of the few remaining opportunities for journalists to have unfettered access to officials.

We hope you will do all you can through training, discipline, and directives to keep it that way.

Sincerely,

Beth A. Parke, Executive Director, SEJ

Beth PACKE

Joseph A Dais

Joseph A. Davis, Director, SEJ Watchdog Project

CC:

Hon. Paul D. Irving, Sergeant-at-Arms, U.S. House of Representatives saamail@mail.house.gov

Hon. Andrew Willison, Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms, U.S. Senate willison drew_willison@saa.senate.gov

Kim Dine, Chief, U.S. Capitol Police kim.dine@uscp.gov

Kate Hunter (Standing Committee of Correspondents) khunter9@bloomberg.net

Emily Ethridge (Standing Committee of Correspondents) emilyethridge@CQRollCall.com

Siobhan Hughes (Standing Committee of Correspondents) siobhan.hughes@wsj.com

Colby Itkowitz (Standing Committee of Correspondents) citkowitz@mcall.com

Peter Urban (Standing Committee of Correspondents)

Gina McCarthy, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency McCarthy.gina@Epa.gov